FinePoint

Common questions

Every answer here is traceable to the instrument it rests on, and where the honest answer is that a figure lives outside this site’s sources, it says so instead of guessing.

All answers, open

The questions, answered in full

The payload-fed questions come first — the ones this market measurably types — followed by the evergreen set about the site itself. Nothing here is collapsed.

How much is the fine for the lowest speeding band in Victoria?

$261. Schedule 7, item 23 prices “Exceed speed limit in a vehicle other than a heavy vehicle by less than 10 km per hour (natural person)” at 1·25 penalty units, and the dollar figure is that unit count multiplied by the gazetted value of a penalty unit — $209.10 for 1 July 2026–30 June 2027 — rounded to the nearest dollar under s 7(4) of the Monetary Units Act 2004. The fine does not move with your income or your history: within the schedule the figure turns on how far over the limit the speed was, the vehicle class, and whether the driver is a natural person or a body corporate — each of those is its own priced row. Source: Road Safety (General) Regulations 2019, S.R. No. 88/2019, Authorised Version No. 022, incorporating amendments as at 1 January 2026.

How much is a penalty unit worth in Victoria right now?

$209.10, for the financial year 1 July 2026–30 June 2027 (Special Gazette S234, 5 May 2026). Victorian fines are written in penalty units rather than dollars, and the Treasurer fixes the unit's value for each financial year under s 5 of the Monetary Units Act 2004 — so the same offence carries a slightly different dollar amount from one July to the next. Every dollar figure on this site is its offence's units multiplied by this value, and the derivation is recomputed at build time rather than typed.

Does Victoria have double demerits on long weekends?

The Road Safety (Drivers) Regulations 2019 — the instrument that prescribes every Victorian demerit-point value — contain no double-demerit, holiday-period or point-multiplication provision of any kind. Every Schedule 3 and Schedule 4 row carries a single fixed point value, and reg 72(1) defines "the appropriate number of demerit points" as the number specified in column 3, admitting no multiplier.

How many demerit points before you lose your licence in Victoria?

The Road Safety (Drivers) Regulations 2019 prescribe how demerit points are recorded and removed, but the point-count thresholds that trigger an option notice or suspension, the suspension lengths, and the good-behaviour election are all set by the Road Safety Act 1986 itself (ss 35, 36, 40, 41A, 46A, 46H–46I), which this corpus does not yet vendor. No threshold figure from this instrument can be stated.

Do these amounts apply in NSW or the rest of Australia?

This payload covers Victoria only. Australia has no national traffic-fines instrument — road law is state law, and each state prices its own schedule against its own penalty-unit (or flat-dollar) mechanism. New South Wales’ statute portal, its AustLII mirror and its road-safety agency were all unreachable from this build environment when probed (three origins, two security vendors); every other state and territory was not attempted. No figure on this payload may be read as applying outside Victoria.

Can low-range drink-driving be dealt with by a fine in Victoria, without going to court?

For the lowest bands, in the circumstances the schedule itself spells out, yes. The “Drink driving / Drug driving” group of Schedule 7 prices these as infringement penalties. Item 118 — “Drive or be in charge of a motor vehicle— (a) with unlawful blood alcohol level of less than 0·05g/100 ml or breath alcohol level of less than 0·05g/210 litres of exhaled air; and (b) holding either a full driver licence or an equivalent licence issued by another State or Territory or another country” — carries 2·5 penalty units, which is $523 at the current unit value, and item 119 prices the same reading without a full licence at $523. In the band above, item 122 — “Drive or be in charge of a motor vehicle with— (a) blood alcohol level of 0·05 or more but less than 0·07g/100 ml; or (b) breath alcohol level of 0·05 or more but less than 0·07g/210 litres of exhaled air— and RSA 52 (zero blood or breath alcohol) applies to the person” — is $627, and items 120 ($627) and 121 ($627) price that same band for the further cases the schedule sets out in full. Higher readings and repeat cases are dealt with by a court, and this site does not state court penalties — the schedule rows are the only drink-driving figures it carries. Source: Road Safety (General) Regulations 2019, S.R. No. 88/2019, Authorised Version No. 022, incorporating amendments as at 1 January 2026.

How much is the fine for driving unregistered or unlicensed in Victoria?

From the “Licensing and registration” rows of Schedule 7: “Own or use unregistered motor vehicle with 2 axles (other than a motor cycle)” (item 160) is 5 penalty units — $1,046 at the current unit value — with unregistered motor cycles and trailers priced in their own rows by engine capacity and axle count. “Unlicensed driving in circumstances other than those referred to in codes 2105 and 2106” (item 141) is 5 penalty units, $1,046, while the two specific unlicensed-driving circumstances the schedule names separately are priced at $523 (item 139) and $523 (item 140). Each dollar figure is the row's penalty units multiplied by the gazetted unit value, rounded to the nearest dollar as s 7(4) of the Monetary Units Act 2004 permits. Decimal-exact product $1045.50 lands exactly on a half-dollar; MUA s.7(4) states no tie-break. The rounded figure is shown. Source: Road Safety (General) Regulations 2019, S.R. No. 88/2019, Authorised Version No. 022, incorporating amendments as at 1 January 2026.

What is the fine for driving in a tram lane, bus lane or bicycle lane in Victoria?

Each has its own Schedule 7 row. “Drive in a tram lane or tramway” (item 195) is 1 penalty unit — $209. “Drive unlawfully in bicycle lane” (item 198) is 1·5 penalty units — $314. “Drive unlawfully in bus, transit or truck lane” (item 199) is 1 penalty unit — $209. Each dollar figure is the row's units multiplied by the gazetted value of a penalty unit, rounded to the nearest dollar as s 7(4) of the Monetary Units Act 2004 permits. Source: Road Safety (General) Regulations 2019, S.R. No. 88/2019, Authorised Version No. 022, incorporating amendments as at 1 January 2026.

How much is the on-the-spot fine for careless driving in Victoria, and how many demerit points?

For a full licence holder: $502 and 3 demerit points — item 91 is the schedule's only careless-driving infringement row (its neighbouring careless rows are repealed), and its own wording limits it to full licence holders; other cases are dealt with by a court. Schedule 7, item 91 prices “Careless driving of a motor vehicle by a full licence holder” at 2·4 penalty units, and Schedule 3, item 19 — “Careless driving” — carries 3 points. The two figures come from two different instruments, which is why each is cited to its own schedule; what a court could impose for the same conduct is a different layer again, and this site does not state court penalties. Sources: Road Safety (General) Regulations 2019, S.R. No. 88/2019, Authorised Version No. 022, incorporating amendments as at 1 January 2026; Road Safety (Drivers) Regulations 2019, S.R. No. 100/2019, Authorised Version No. 020, incorporating amendments as at 1 August 2026.

How do I check or pay a fine, or check my demerit points?

On the official services, not here. A fine is paid, viewed or challenged with Fines Victoria — the Victorian Government’s fines agency — or with the council or agency named on your notice, using the reference number the notice itself carries. Your demerit-point balance is a record VicRoads holds against your licence, and it is checked through VicRoads’ own licence services. This site is independent of all of them: it holds no records, renders no lookup or payment form, and never asks for a licence number, a notice number or a plate.

Is this site Fines Victoria?

No. Fines Victoria is the Victorian Government’s fines agency — the official service where you pay a fine, view an overdue notice, nominate another driver or ask for a review. This site has no connection to it. FinePoint is an independent reference site: it explains what Victorian fines are made of, from the instruments the amounts come from, and it links to the official service wherever paying or checking is what you actually need.

Can I pay a fine or check my demerit points here?

No, and deliberately so. This site never asks for an obligation number, an infringement notice number, a driver licence number or a plate, and it renders no lookup or payment form. It holds no records and cannot see yours. Paying and checking are what the official Victorian Government services are for, and the notice you were sent names exactly where to go for that particular matter.

Where these answers come from

Every figure above is interpolated from the payload behind this site — the schedule row’s own units multiplied by the gazetted unit value — and every quoted band is the schedule’s own wording. Where the honest answer is that a figure lives outside this site’s sources — double demerits, the suspension thresholds, anything beyond Victoria — the answer renders the payload’s recorded finding instead of guessing.

Victorian instruments only — every dollar amount derived from penalty units and the gazetted unit value.

Preview

PREVIEW — the figures here are researched from the Victorian instruments and cited, but none has been through final review yet.